Skip to content

Walt Disney Family Museum Celebrates the 55

This week marks the 55th anniversary of Disneyland’s grand opening (either the 17th or 18th of July depending on how you’re counting). The park itself is doing something around Merchandise, the Disneyana Fan Club is having a convention, and, not to be left out, the Walt Disney Family Museum is having two days of events.

Alas the WDFM events are already sold out. But if you follow them on twitter (@WDFMuseum) then you can keep up with the goings on and get access to special coverage they’ll be posting over the following days.

More details below the jump

On July 18, 1955, Disneyland officially opened its doors in southern California. Fifty-five years later, a rare gathering of Disney Legends, family members, former executives (2 Disneyland Presidents), Imagineers and other special guests are gathering in San Francisco at the new Walt Disney Family Museum – many of whom will share their personal stories about working with Walt.

Special Guests include:

Diane Disney Miller – daughter of Walt Disney (Friday, July 16 only)
Tony Baxter – current SR VP of Creative Development for Disneyland
Jack Lindquist – former President of Disneyland
Dick Nunis – Disney Legend and former Chairman of Walt Disney Attractions
Matt Ouimet – former President of Disneyland Resor
Buzz Price – Economist who helped Walt Disney find original site of Disneyland
Craig Russell – Current Chief Design and Project Delivery Executive Walt Disney Imagineering
Marty Sklar – Disney Legend and former Vice Chair of Imagineering
Bruce Vaughn – Current Chief Creative Executive, Walt Disney Imagineering

WHERE: Special Exhibition Hall, The Walt Disney Family Museum – Main Post of the Presidio, San Francisco

Tickets to these events are completely sold out, but not to worry: The @WDFMuseum will be live-tweeting from all three events! We will also be sending out a photo recap with highlights of our Disneyland 55 weekend.

6 thoughts on “Walt Disney Family Museum Celebrates the 55”

  1. Pingback: Todd Perlmutter

  2. Pingback: Access America

  3. Pingback: Tammy George

Comments are closed.