Skip to content

‘The Proud Family: Louder And Prouder’ Debuts on Disney+ Feb 23

The Proud Family: Louder and Prouder

The Proud Family returns to Disney via a new series, “The Proud Family: Louder And Prouder,” debuting on Disney+ in weekly installments starting February 23, 2022.

“The Proud Family: Louder and Prouder” will pick up the story of its central character, Penny Proud, and include her madcap family: parents Oscar and Trudy; twin siblings BeBe and CeCe; and grandmother Suga Mama (and Puff!).

Of course, it would not be “The Proud Family” without Penny’s loyal crew, including Dijonay Jones, LaCienega Boulevardez, and Zoey Howzer, among others.

The Proud Family: Louder And Prouder

Cast members reprising their roles from the original series are:

  • Kyla Pratt as Penny Proud
  • Tommy Davidson as Oscar Proud
  • Paula Jai Parker as Trudy Proud
  • JoMarie Payton as Suga Mama
  • Cedric the Entertainer as Uncle Bobby
  • Karen Malina White as Dijonay Jones
  • Soleil Moon Frye as Zoey Howzer
  • Alisa Reyes as LaCienega Boulevardez
  • Carlos Mencia as Felix Boulevardez
  • Maria Canals-Barrera as Sunset Boulevardez
  • Alvaro Gutierrez as Papi
  • Raquel Lee Bolleau as Nubia Gross
  • Marcus T. Paulk as Myron
  • Aldis Hodge as Frankie
  • Aries Spears as Wizard Kelly
  • Cree Summer as Peabo
  • Patricia Belcher as Principal Hightower
  • Kevin Michael Richardson as Dr. Payne
The Proud Family: Louder And Prouder

Recurring new voices are: Keke Palmer as Maya Leibowitz-Jenkins, Billy Porter and Zachary Quinto as Randall and Barry Leibowitz-Jenkins, rapper Artist “A Boogie” Dubose as Francis “KG” Leibowitz-Jenkins, EJ Johnson as Michael Collins, Asante Blackk as Kareem, Bresha Webb as CeCe, and Aiden Dodson as BeBe.

The new series will also have a lot of guest voices, including Lizzo, Lil Nas X, Chance the Rapper, Normani, Leslie Odom Jr, Tiffany Haddish, Lena Waithe, Anthony Anderson, Gabrielle Union, Debbie Allen, James Pickens Jr., Courtney B. Vance, Jane Lynch, Marsai Martin, Jaden Smith, Glynn Turman, Lamorne Morris, Brenda Song, Tina Knowles, Eva Longoria, Holly Robinson Peete, Al Roker, Bretman Rock, Gabby Douglas, Laurie Hernandez, Dominique Dawes, Daniel “Desus Nice” Baker, D.C. Young Fly, Kid Capri, Art Evans, Arturo Castro, Ashton Sanders, Dominique Fishback, Jeremy O. Harris, Karrie Martin, Logan Browning and Princess Nokia.

From Disney Television Animation, “The Proud Family: Louder and Prouder” is executive-produced by Bruce W. Smith (“The Princess and the Frog”) and Ralph Farquhar (“Moesha”), both of whom led the original series. Calvin Brown, Jr. (“Moesha”) is co-executive producer, Jan Hirota (“Big Hero 6 The Series”) is producer, and Eastwood Wong (“Carmen Sandiego”) is art director.

The original series, “The Proud Family,” aired on the Disney Channel starting in 2001 for 2 seasons, and a TV movie. Both seasons are available on Disney+.

In a joint statement, Smith and Farquhar said, “In our minds, the show never really went away, as we still had tons of stories left to tell. It’s the perfect time to bring back this show, and we can’t wait to take fans, old and new alike, on this journey with us.”

Here is the trailer they’ve released for the new show: