Disney Projects Get Seven 2022 GRAMMY Nominations

Grammy awards banner

The 2022 GRAMMY Nominations were announced yesterday (Nov. 23), and Disney-related projects received seven nominations.

The 64th GRAMMY Awards recognize recordings released between Sept. 1, 2020 and Sept. 30, 2021.

Four of the nominations were in the “Music for Visual Media” category (their term for film and TV), and two were in the Jazz category, while the last was for a concert film on Disney+.


The nominations are:

Best Jazz Instrumental Album:

Jazz Selections: Music From And Inspired By Soul
Jon Batiste

Best Improvised Jazz Solo:

Bigger Than Us
Jon Batiste, soloist
Track from: Soul (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) (Various Artists)

Best Compilation Soundtrack For Visual Media:

Cruella (Various Artists)

Best Score Soundtrack For Visual Media:

The Mandalorian: Season 2 – Vol. 2 (Chapters 13-16)
Ludwig Göransson, composer

Soul
Jon Batiste, Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross, composers

Best Song Written For Visual Media:

Agatha All Along [From WandaVision: Episode 7]
Kristen Anderson-Lopez & Robert Lopez, songwriters (Kristen Anderson-Lopez & Robert Lopez Featuring Kathryn Hahn, Eric Bradley, Greg Whipple, Jasper Randall & Gerald White)

Best Music Film:

Happier Than Ever: A Love Letter To Los Angeles
Billie Eilish
Patrick Osborne & Robert Rodriguez, video directors


The Recording Academy will present the 2022 GRAMMY Awards show on Mon, Jan. 31, on CBS, and stream live and on demand on Paramount+, from 8–11:30pm ET / 5–8:30pm PT.

Prior to the telecast, the GRAMMY Awards Premiere Ceremony will be held at the Microsoft Theater at 12:30pm PT/3:30pm ET and will be streamed live on GRAMMY.com and the Recording Academy’s YouTube channel.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *