Bob Iger Joins Apple’s Board of Directors

Today, Apple named a new Chairman of the Board. Arthur D. Levinson will take over as Chairman, having served on the board since 2005.

In Disney-related news, Bob Iger (President and CEO of The Walt Disney Company) was also named today as a new member of Apple’s Board of Directors. This furthers the relationship between Disney and Apple.  (Steve Jobs was the largest Disney shareholder and a member of Disney’s board until his passing. Iger was instrumental in the negotiations for Disney to buy Pixar from Jobs in 2006.) Iger joins the ranks of Al Gore, Tim Cook, and other noteworthy figures in one of the most powerful boards.

Iger is also a member of the board of directors for the National September 11 Memorial & Museum and Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts, Inc. He is also a member of Barack Obama’s President’s Export Council. (And remember, Iger has announced that he will step down as Disney’s CEO in 2015.)

For more information, read Apple’s official press release.

Digg This
Reddit This
Stumble Now!
Buzz This
Vote on DZone
Share on Facebook
Bookmark this on Delicious
Kick It on
Shout it
Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Technorati
Post on Twitter
Google Buzz (aka. Google Reader)

About Adam Britten

Adam Britten is a self-proclaimed Disney geek. From a very young age, he fondly remembers visiting the parks with his family on an almost yearly basis. Currently a Master of Digital Marketing Student at Hult International Business School, Adam wishes on a star that he will one day work for the mouse's marketing department. He’s visited Disneyland, Walt Disney World, & Disneyland Paris; he hopes to complete the world tour. His favorite Disney movie is Alice in Wonderland. Can also be seen on: Twitter as @AdamBritten,, and his new blog about the intersection between social media and theme parks at
This entry was posted in Corporate and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bob Iger Joins Apple’s Board of Directors

  1. Pingback: The Disney Blog

  2. Pingback: Adam Britten

  3. Pingback: Lauren K. Gray

  4. Pingback: Mike Bastoli

  5. Pingback: The Disney Blog

Comments are closed.