Skip to content

Pixar’s ‘Coco’ Picks up Golden Globe for Best Animated Feature

Perhaps a sign of things to come at the Academy Awards, the Hollywood Foreign Press Association awarded Pixar a Golden Globe for “Coco” as the Best Animated Feature of the Year.

The award was accepted by its director Lee Unkrich and producer Darla K Anderson. Not present was executive producer John Lasseter who is on a six month hiatus from work as he struggles to over come his workplace harassment issues.

This is the 10th win in 12 years for the Walt Disney Company in the animation category the Golden Globes. The first award for animation was just 12 years ago. So that’s a pretty good run for Disney.

Previous winners were:
2006 Cars
2007 Ratatouille (also won an Oscar)
2008 Wall-E (also won an Oscar
2009 Up (also won an Oscar)
2010 Toy Story 3 (also won an Oscar)
2012 Brave (also won an Oscar)
2013 Frozen (also won an Oscar)
2015 Inside Out (also won an Oscar)
2016 Zootopia (also won an Oscar)

That would seem to be a pretty good indication that Coco will win the Oscar. But trends were made to be broken, so who knows.