Braves 2013 Spring Training Schedule Announced

It’s an annual tradition for many. Escape the cold winter temps and follow their favorite MLB baseball team to their spring training location. This year the Atlanta Braves Spring Training at ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex will draw a marquee lineup of baseball teams, including the New York Yankees, St. Louis Cardinals, Philadelphia Phillies and Detroit Tigers making this the year to start your tradition if you’ve ever considered it.

The Braves, who earned a National League Wild Card berth in 2012, report to the complex for two weeks of training in early February, before opening at Champion Stadium on Feb. 22 against Detroit. The late February date marks the earliest start for Braves at Disney since the team arrived in 1997.

A pair of visits by the Yankees, Feb. 23 and March 16 (night game), a March 12 contest versus the Cardinals, and a March 18 game against the Philadelphia Phillies highlight the schedule.

The Washington Nationals and Tigers, both reigning playoff clubs, make up the core of the Braves’ 18-game home schedule at Champion Stadium. Each will play three games apiece at ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex. The Nationals visit Disney on Feb. 26, before a pair of night games, March 1 and March 21. The Tigers will also play under the lights March 7, along with day games Feb. 22 and March 3.

The 2013 slate also features the New York Mets twice, on March 15 and March 25, the Miami Marlins on February 25 and March 10, the Toronto Blue Jays on March 8 and Pittsburgh Pirates on March 20.

This year’s schedule will also include select promotional themed games, along with the traditional Disney family-oriented fun, including in-game entertainment, Disney character appearances and on-field fan experiences. Kids will again have the opportunity to run the bases after every game.

Date — Opponent — Time
Friday, Feb. 22 Detroit Tigers 1:05 PM
Saturday, Feb. 23 New York Yankees 1:05 PM
Monday, Feb. 25 Florida Marlins 1:05 PM
Tuesday, Feb. 26 Washington Nationals 1:05 PM
Friday, March 1 Washington Nationals 6:05 PM
Sunday, March 3 Detroit Tigers 1:05 PM
Thursday, March 7 Detroit Tigers 6:05 PM
Friday, March 8 Toronto Blue Jays 1:05 PM
Sunday, March 10 Miami Marlins 1:05 PM
Tuesday, March 12 St. Louis Cardinals 1:05 PM
Friday, March 15 New York Mets 1:05 PM
Saturday, March 16 New York Yankees 5:05 PM
Monday, March 18 Philadelphia Phillies 1:05 PM
Wednesday, March 20 Pittsburgh Pirates 1:05 PM
Thursday, March 21 Washington Nationals 6:05 PM
Saturday, March 23 Houston Astros 1:05 PM
Monday, March 25 New York Mets 1:05 PM
Thursday, March 28 Houston Astros 1:05 PM

All times are Eastern and are subject to change. All games to be played at Champion Stadium at ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex.

Have you attended spring training before? What do you think of the facilities at ESPN WWOS?

Digg This
Reddit This
Stumble Now!
Buzz This
Vote on DZone
Share on Facebook
Bookmark this on Delicious
Kick It on DotNetKicks.com
Shout it
Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Technorati
Post on Twitter
Google Buzz (aka. Google Reader)
This entry was posted in ESPN, Shorts, Sports, Walt Disney World and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.