Historic Photos of Anaheim and Orlando

Fans of Disneyland and Walt Disney World sometimes forget that there was a city and a vibrant culture existing before the Mouse, with all its tourist baggage, moved in and changed the region forever. Turner Publishing has put out two books that look back at Anaheim and Orlando as they existed before Buzz Price led Walt Disney to the nexus of population growth in both Orange counties.

Hpoanaheim_2 Historic Photos of Anaheim captures this cities journey through still photography selected from the finest archives. From Anaheim as the birthplace of the Los Angeles Vineyard Society to its becoming home of the world-famous Disneyland, Historic Photos of Anaheim follows life, government, education, and events throughout the city’s history.

Hpoorlando Historic Photos of Orlando captures this city’s journey through still photography selected from the finest archives. From Jernigan to the great freeze, the land boom to the construction of Walt Disney World, Historic Photos of Orlando follows life, government, education, and events throughout the city’s history. I think I might have even spotted my grandfather in a few of those photos.

Each book is 216 pages long, full of historic photos, and includes just enough narrative and local color to enhance the historical lesson. I greatly enjoyed learning more about my new hometown of Orlando. It never was just a sleepy backwater town before 1971, as some would have you believe. Instead it took advantage of it’s central location to become a center for culture and finance. Walt Disney’s decision to move in was just the logical progression for an area that had already developed quite a tourist industry of it’s own.

Digg This
Reddit This
Stumble Now!
Buzz This
Vote on DZone
Share on Facebook
Bookmark this on Delicious
Kick It on DotNetKicks.com
Shout it
Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Technorati
Post on Twitter
Google Buzz (aka. Google Reader)
This entry was posted in Disneyland, Florida Attractions, History, Walt Disney World. Bookmark the permalink.